Cows Ahoy!

At long last, after a long and pizza-filled adventure in Transylvania, it was time to head home. We had to drop off some head lamps (you know, to strap on our foreheads when the electricity goes out) to Dana before we left, and we were supposed to meet Katie at a corner near her house where she’d just take them from us and deliver them to Dana when she got the chance. Unfortunately, that rendezvous went to plan B, then plan C.

We tried calling Katie when we were coming down the mountain to let her know that we’d be there soon, but the phone wasn’t working. Benci and Zoltan were busy finicking at the front of the bus, trying to get it to work.

Image

After that, we drove to the IMPACT building, but it was locked since it was Sunday. So, we drove to Dana’s house and (thankfully) he was home. While we were waiting for Bern to finish up giving the head lamps over, this guy walked past our bus on his morning route:

Image

After that, we were able to hit the road with no problems. I was still feeling disgusting from the nausea the night before, but I’d forced myself to eat half a hard boiled egg and some bread with a little strawberry tea before leaving, and slowly I was getting better. Audrey, however, still felt horrible and laid down on the bus floor to try to get some sleep and some relief from the cramped bus seats. Not long after being on the road, though, she sat up — her head was right next to my hip from where I was sitting in my seat. Remember that I have hearing so sensitive that I heard an earring hit the floor on the opposite side of a dining hall full of people. I didn’t hear her throw up.

That is intense.

Well actually it was in a bus, but you get the point.

Half of you won’t get that joke.

Anyway, needless to say she wasn’t feeling well, and there wasn’t really much I could do to help. I offered her some water, but she’d already had some. After that, she spent the rest of the day resting in the bus, feeling miserable but not vomiting again, thankfully. At that moment, though, our primary concern was cleaning up the mess — we needed a rest station.

This is Romania, my friends. Rural Romania. We drove about a mile before we hit a farmer’s market — the complete opposite of a gas station, and the last thing we needed jamming up traffic at this moment.

Image

While it certainly was enjoyable to get a view of all the farmers selling their fruits (almost exclusively grapes), we really needed to get to a gas station for a restroom for the sick people. Thankfully, I was no longer considering myself one of the sick ones, and I started snacking on pretzels and some candies I had bought back in Budapest with no ill consequences to my stomach. Unfortunately, it was more than an hour before we came upon a small gas station that could help us, because backwoods Romania just doesn’t have too many gas stations.

Having taken care of all that, it was a pleasant and generally peaceful ride for the next four hours until we found our way to Timisoara, a town further north in Romania that was the site of the beginning of the Romanian revolution. We had an hour and a half to do anything that we liked in the city, so I took the chance to just meander around and take some nice pictures.

It was a quiet town, very homey, and it had a unique kind of character that was brought out even more by the rain.

Image

 

When I actually decided to go into a building, it was this large church.

Image

The inside was astounding, filled with golden artifacts and impressive architecture. There was a baby baptism going on as we entered.

Image

Image

After that, we just sort of wandered around the main square and some people started heading back to the flea market on a side street we had passed. I saw a sandwich shop and, figuring that bread would be the best bet for a maybe-still-sick person, sat down with Julia and Anna to have a sandwich.

Image

I ordered a small one with grilled chicken, and I’m not going to lie, it was delicious. I gave the tomatoes to Anna, who is a vegetarian, but my sandwich had just the right amount of chicken and creamy mozzarella spread on fresh, soft bread that I was quite satisfied.

Image

After I’d finished, I had one more destination before saying goodbye to Timisoara — a window bakery up the street. I grabbed myself a trigoane and a corn cu visine for the ride home, then headed back to the bus with Katie (who made a pit stop to grab a coffee).

The trigoane was…interesting. It didn’t really taste like much, perhaps apple, but it was a pastry with, as best I can describe it, just sweet filling. The filling didn’t have much of its own distinctive flavor (it kind of tasted like apple, like I said), it was just sweet. The outside of the pastry was flaky, and I came across a raisin or two as I ate it. Not bad, but not the best either.

Image

The corn cu visine, on the other hand, was quite delightful. It took me a moment to realize that it wasn’t just a bagel, it was a bagel with strawberry inside! I really liked it. Wish I could find them here in Budapest!

Image

I snacked on my pastries until we got to the border crossing, which was a task more daunting than we wanted to deal with at that moment:

Image

Thankfully, with a little patience, we were able to get through much faster than we’d thought. Granted it still wasn’t fast, but at least it was faster.

At long last, we arrived back at the dorm. I was happy to be home, but my happiness was quickly tempered as I finally got on the computer (with wireless for the first time in a few days) to discover that my disability coordinator had some very negative news for me. If I ever feel like talking about all that all at once, I’ll just write a blog post that chronicles the whole thing from the very beginning. Now that will be a long one.

Leave a Reply

